826michigan Staff and Board of Directors

826michigan’s staff is made up of dedicated educators, administrators, and program experts.

We are committed to delivering high-quality, impactful educational programming to students and families in the Ann Arbor, Detroit, and Ypsilanti areas. Have a question or just want to reach out to say hi? 

Executive Director
Megan Shuchman

Operations Director
Kinyel Friday

Program Manager
Megan Gilson

Program Manager
Denise Ervin

Development & Communications Manager
Amy Sumerton

Volunteer & Program Coordinator
Eli Sparkman

Program & Volunteer Administrative Assistant 
Diamond Sharpe

Retail Administrative Assistant 
Alexa Carlozzi

Teaching Artists & Apprentices
Paige Bennett
Rachel Chalfant
Makenna Crossley
Alexa Carlozzi
Caitlin Koska
Adeline Navarro
Alex Quada
Mazen Shahbain

Want to work for 826michigan?

Check out our Jobs page for available job and internship openings.

Board of Directors

Maria Montoya, President & Secretary

Holly Hunt, Treasurer

Christopher Ankney

Abby Fanelli

James A. Hiller

Tanya Line

Denice Olson

Danté Richmond

Patti Wheeler

826 National Founders

Dave Eggers & Nínive Clements Calegari

Keep up with our latest programs, news, and resources for helping students foster a love for writing. Sign up for our newsletter.
Mailing List
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.